Puppy Day Beach Walk

DSC_0259

March 23, 2016.

It was International Puppy Day! Meet Jake the dog!

“A dog is the only thing on earth that loves you more than he loves himself.”
Josh Billings (a.k.a. Henry Wheeler Shaw; humorist and lecturer)

To the Takis family, Jake is another member. Like another son. Colton loves his dog and felt it was nothing less than suitable to reward his dog for a long walk on a day that is devoted to dogs.

At 4 pm, Colton, Jake the dog and I met up at Hendry’s beach or the “Pit” to the locals. Hendry’s is a popular beach for dog owners and their beloved pooches. It has an on leash dog zone to the right and a no leash dog area to the left. The restaurant called the Boathouse is also located at Hendry’s beach.

DSC_0283 DSC_0284 DSC_0285 DSC_0286

After meeting up we walked from the parking lot to the sand and took Jake off of his leash. I could tell that Jake loved the beach. He was able to run free, interact with other dogs, dig in the sand and fetch is ball. The photos above are sequential photos of Jake retrieving his ball from the tide pool.

Along the two hour walk I collected shells and more specifically sea glass, as you guys know is my normal thing to do while I’m at the beach. The tide was low enough to explore the tide pools and this made me extremely excited when I first arrived at the beach. On a normal low tide time of day, small animals might be found in the tide pools but maybe it was the time or beach that didn’t have many small creatures. I did find a very cool anemone though!

DSC_0321

One of my other favorite things to do at the beach is photograph the beautiful mossy, green rocks. Guess what? Once again I have photos from my trip to the beach that include mossy rocks!!

DSC_0305DSC_0270

I as well have dogs of my own, two. Dakota and Bridger. I was sad that I couldn’t bring them but it would have been so much fun with them there. That same day I took them on a long walk when I got home so I didn’t feel so bad. Happy Puppy Day!

Would you reward your dog like this on puppy day?

-Shayne

 

This entry was published on March 23, 2016 at 3:39 pm. It’s filed under beach and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

